AdobeStock 157471845 1 scaled

Best Online Driver’s Ed in Indiana

Affiliate disclosure: Automoblog and its partners may be compensated when you purchase the products below.

Crash Course:

  • Indiana teens can begin driver’s education at age 15.
  • After age 16 years and 270 days, driver’s ed is no longer required.
  • Online Indiana driver’s ed course costs range from $54.95 to $79.

Featured Driver’s Education Providers

We reviewed the industry’s top driver’s education programs, and here are our featured picks.

Best Industry Reputation

Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0

See Plans

On Our Partner’s Website

Best Customer Service

Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0

See Plans

On Our Partner’s Website

Best Behind-the-Wheel Training
Coastline Academy

Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0

See Plans

On Our Partner’s Website

Interested in getting your Indiana learner’s permit or license? We cover everything you need to know to succeed below, including driver’s ed requirements, steps for getting your permit, and the best online driver’s ed courses available.

Best Indiana Online Driver’s Ed Courses

Our team researched the top online driver’s education classes available across the country, and the below are our top picks for virtual driver’s ed classes in Indiana:

  • Driver’s Ed Direct 
  • iDriveSafely 

Read our detailed reviews below. 

How Do You Get a Driver’s License in Indiana?

Drivers under 21 must obtain a learner’s permit before becoming eligible for a probationary license. 

How To Get a Learner’s Permit Under 21

To qualify for a learner’s permit in Indiana, you must: 

  • Be 15 years of age or older, and
  • If under 16, be enrolled in an approved driver education course

Once eligible, follow these steps to obtain your learner’s permit:

  1. Schedule an appointment with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)
  2. Submit proof of identity and, if applicable, enrollment in driver’s ed
  3. Pass a vision screening
  4. Pass a knowledge-based permit test
  5. Take a photo
  6. Pay all applicable fees

Restrictions for driving with a learner’s permit vary by age. Learn more about these restrictions on the Indiana BMV website.

How To Get a Probationary License Under 21

To become eligible for an Indiana probationary license, drivers under 21 must:

  • Hold a learner’s permit for a minimum of 180 days
  • Meet minimum age requirements, which are contingent on completion of driver’s ed

The youngest an Indiana driver can obtain a probationary license is 16 years and 90 days. Without completion of a driver education program, a driver must be at least 16 years and 270 days old.

Once the above requirements are met, new drivers can obtain a probationary license by:

  1. Scheduling an appointment at an Indiana BMV office
  2. Submitting proof of supervised driving and, if applicable, proof of driver’s ed completion
  3. Pass a vision screening test
  4. Pass a driving skills test
  5. Have an appropriate photo taken
  6. Pay all applicable fees

Drivers may qualify for a driver education waiver under specific conditions. Probationary licenses carry age-specific restrictions. Find out more by visiting the Indiana BMV.

Is Driver’s Ed Required in Indiana?

Indiana law requires new teen drivers age 15 to take an approved driver education course. Once teens reach age 16, driver’s ed enrollment is no longer required to obtain a permit.

New drivers under the age of 16 years and 270 days must complete driver’s education to obtain a probationary license.

How Long is Driver’s Ed in Indiana? 

Approved driver’s ed courses in Indiana include 30 hours of classroom or virtual driver’s ed instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel training. Before becoming eligible for a probationary license, teens ages 16 and 17 must also complete 50 hours of driving practice.

How Much is Driver’s Ed in Indiana? 

Online Indiana driver’s ed courses from our top providers range from $54.95 to $79. Course prices include an online driver education course only. Additional costs may apply for behind-the-wheel training.

What are the Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses in Indiana? 

For each of our following top four picks for virtual Indiana driving schools, you can work at your own pace, access course materials online, and take quizzes to help retain your knowledge. Note that these courses can help you pass your final exam, but you will need to take behind-the-wheel training to gain better safe driving and defensive driving skills. 


What we like about

  • 25 years of experience
  • Average course cost of $58.15
  • Fast reporting to the Indiana BMV was founded in 1997. Based in Houston, Texas, the company boasts excellent online reviews and easy-to-understand course content. courses for Indiana students are fully refundable within 30 days of purchase as long as no certificate of completion has been issued. courses in Indiana:

  • Teen Driver’s Ed: 30-hour online course meets all Indiana BMV state requirements for teens 16 years, 270 days and younger

Find out more about courses and pricing by reading our detailed review.


What we like about IMPROV:

  • 24/7 customer support
  • Average course cost of $43.68
  • Interactive and comedic lessons

Founded in 2009, IMPROV is based in Los Angeles, California. Customer feedback for IMPROV highlights engaging lessons, affordable course prices, and outstanding customer service. 

Improv offers a full refund of course fees as long as no completion certificate has been issued. 

IMPROV courses in Indiana:

  • Teen Driver’s Ed: Fulfills the 30-hour course requirement for new drivers under age 16 years, 270 days

Find out more about IMPROV classes and availability by reading our IMPROV review.

#3 Drivers Ed Direct 

What we like about Drivers Ed Direct: 

  • Average course cost of $67.68
  • Online video library for extra studying
  • Excellent customer reviews on multiple platforms

Drivers Ed Direct was founded in 2006 and now operates out of Chatsworth, California. The company partners with iDriveSafely and other well-known providers to offer courses in more locations. Customers note an easy signup process and excellent customer service.

Drivers Ed Direct’s teen driver’s ed courses are fully online, with behind-the-wheel lessons available in California only. 

Drivers Ed Direct courses in Indiana:

  • Teen Driver’s Ed: BMV-approved course fulfills driver’s ed requirements for drivers under 16 years, 270 days

Learn more by reading our in-depth Drivers Ed Direct review.

#4 Safe2Drive

What we like about Safe2Drive:

  • Strong refund policy
  • Average course cost of $49.60
  • Clear guides for teens, parents, and new adult drivers

Safe2Drive was founded in 2003 and operates out of Rancho Santo Margarita, California. The company has positive reviews on Yelp and Google, with an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

Safe2Drive offers a full refund on all online courses within 30 days of purchase and before a certificate of completion is issued. 

Safe2Drive courses in Indiana: 

  • Teen Driver’s Ed: Satisfies 30-hour driver’s ed requirements for new drivers under age 16 years, 270 days

Indiana BMV Contact Information and Resources 

You can find out everything you need to know about permits, licenses, and driver’s ed requirements in the state of Indiana on the Indiana BMV website. Indiana BMV customer service is available by phone Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (CT) at 888-692-6841.

You Might Also Be Interested In:

FAQ: Online Driver’s Ed in Indiana

Is driver’s ed free in Indiana?

Costs for online driver’s ed courses vary by provider. Expect to pay between $55 and $80 for courses from the best online providers, with additional costs for behind-the-wheel driving school training.

Is online driver’s ed legit in Indiana?

Provider courses on our list carry approval from the Indiana BMV and fulfill all state driver’s ed requirements.

When can you start driver’s ed in Indiana?

Indiana teen drivers can enroll in driver’s ed beginning at age 15. After age 16 years and 270 days, teens no longer require driver’s ed to obtain a permit or license.

Our Methodology

With so many online driver’s ed courses available, we work hard to identify the highest quality providers. Our goal is to provide reviews that are accurate, trustworthy, and helpful to our readers. 

Minimum Requirements

Using data from consumer reviews, we first identified a set of minimum requirements for each driver’s ed course provider. To be included in our ranking each provider must have:

  • Self-paced, online courses 
  • Courses available in at least two states
  • An active Better Business Bureau (BBB) profile 
  • Active reviews on Google, Yelp, and/or Trustpilot
  • A majority of DMV-approved courses in the states in which they operate 

Key Metrics

After selecting providers that meet our minimum requirements, we conducted extensive research and identified the following key metrics to rank the best online driver’s ed courses for 2023. 

  • Accessibility (20%): Our methodology rewards programs that are low-cost, self-paced, and approved in the majority of states where they operate. These metrics identify programs that are accessible for more people. 
  • Quality (30%): We take a close look at each provider’s availability and caliber of customer support as well as the number of years they’ve been in business. We reward providers who offer money back guarantees and optional behind-the-wheel courses.
  • Reputation (50%): We evaluate hundreds of online reviews—on BBB, Google, Trustpilot, and Yelp—to determine a program’s standing with its current and former customers. 

Image by David Prahl via Adobe Stock